” I don’t want to go to school every day thinking about which exit is the closest and what can I use to protect myself in case of a shooting. I don’t want to practice lockdown drills every time something happens at another school.

They’re dead: people my age, who attended classes and had friends like I do. They played sports and sang and danced and lived and breathed.

But they aren’t here anymore, all because you want to keep your guns. Because it’s “your right to bear arms.”

Sheer Yedidia, age 15

To me I found acceptance. I no longer morn the loss of my mother and have forgiven all the special people that ran around like headless chickens in my life.

For me, I live by forgiveness,  but this does not mean I forget. I can forgive someone or a situation for harming me, by not forgetting means I am able to be wary of any potentials knives etc directed my way.

“It is not death
  If you refuse it.”

–James O’ Barr(the Crow)

Through many perspectives and life experiences I concluded that life is temporary and fleeting as is the world of politics etc.

“To be in the world but not of it.”

The practice of Introversion (text below) spoke directly to me, in its cold humbling sobering nature.

Accepting that anyone can let you down and that being attached to idea that others, beings, events etc will some how always acknowledge, accept, embolden or just be a positive in my life is just not always true. It is a long road to conclude those agencies, personages etc in your life, may not actually be in your life…they just have an agenda to be there in/on their own terms.

To be attached is to be mortally wounded when disappointed,  upset when you realize the source of discomfort is

“why did this happen to me?”

Life is fleeting. But we can see the beauty of all, if we just look.

….

….

There are some who

bear the burden

for us all

who are unnoticed

and unsung

come to show the way

and tend to the Light

from the beginning

to the end.

There are memories

older than time

and friends

dearer than life itself

–Miriam Baum

The practice of Introversion (extract)

“To share in the life of the foolish will lead to the states of woe; You share not, and they will hate you; what good comes from contact with fools?

Good friends at one time, of a sudden they dislike you,

   You try to please them, quite in vain – the worldly are not easily contented!

   Advice on their duties stirs anger; your own good deeds they impede;

   When you ignore what they say they are angry, and head for a state of woe.

Of his betters he is envious, with his equals there is strife;

To inferiors he is haughty, mad for praise and worth at blame; Is there ever any goodness in these foolish common men?

Self-applause, belittling others, or encouragement to sin,

Some such evil’s sure to happen where one fool another meets.

Two evils meet when fools consort together.

Alone I’ll live, in peace and with unblemished mind.

Far should one flee from fools. When met, they should be won by kindness,

Not in the hope of intimacy, but so as to preserve an even, holy, mind.

Enough for Dharma’s work I’ll take from him, just as a bee takes honey from a flower.

Hidden and unknown, like the new moon, I will live my life.

The fools are no one’s friends, so have the Buddhas taught us; They cannot love unless their interest in themselves impels them.

Trees do not show disdain, and they demand no toilsome wooing; Fain would I now consort with them as my companions.

Fain would I dwell in a deserted sanctuary, beneath a tree, or in a cave,

In noble disregard for all, and never looking back on what I left.

Fain would I dwell in spacious regions owned by no one, And there, a homeless wanderer, follow my own mind,

A clay bowl as my only wealth, a robe that does not tempt the robbers,

Dwelling exempt from fear, and careless of my body.

Alone a man is born, and quite alone he also meets his death; This private anguish no one shares; and friends can only bar true welfare.

Those who travel through Becoming should regard each incarna­tion

As no more than a passing station on their journey ‘through Sam­sara.

So will I ever tend delightful and untroubled solitude,

Bestowing bliss, and stilling all distractions.

And from all other cares released, the mind set on collecting my own spirit,

To unify and discipline my spirit I will strive”

