what is rational to one is irrational to another.

If we examine zen for example, we discover logic and rationalism, as described and thought of by most people is lost…..

But if we understand Zen, Zen koans are perfectly rational. The same goes for discussingt he nature of non dualism and God itself. We can state that God is hot and cold. Rationally and logically speaking God cannot be hot AND cold, god can only be one or the other. However certain religious views go beyond simple rationality.

We can see this alive an well in the logic of the wave particle conundrum at the quantum level.
How we can measure how fast a body is travelling or we can measure its location, but we are unable to do both. Logic and rationality thus, in certain contexts are wonderful, in other contexts the goal poasts and boundaries change, which may cause some people to state they are irrational; but for those that understand that which is labelled irrational, it is perfectly rational.

A perfect example is the Gnostic text, the Thunder perfect mind…which is similar to many religious texts in providing seeming opposites as a whole….

I am the one who has been hated everywhere
and who has been loved everywhere.
I am the one whom they call Life,
and you have called Death.
I am the one whom they call Law,
and you have called Lawlessness.
I am the one whom you have pursued,
and I am the one whom you have seized.
I am the one whom you have scattered,
and you have gathered me together.
I am the one before whom you have been ashamed,
and you have been shameless to me.
I am she who does not keep festival,
and I am she whose festivals are many.
I, I am godless, and I am the one whose God is great.
I am the one whom you have reflected upon,
and you have scorned me.
I am unlearned, and they learn from me.

This seeming illogical rationalisation often scares those that cling to ordinary rationality. At forums such as these it results in people name calling, considering another view is “clap trap” or that simply people are evading things and being dishonest.

Rationality is in the eye of the beholder and the level of understanding of the perceiver.

