“There are many declarations made only because we think other people are expecting us to make them. The silence of God should teach us when to speak and when not to speak. But we cannot bear the thought of that silence, lest it cost us the trust and the respect of men.”

Thomas Merton

“I am silent, my father. I want to sing
a hymn to you while I am silent.”

“Then sing it, for I am Mind.”

“I understand Mind, Hermes,
who cannot be interpreted,
because he keeps within himself.
And I rejoice, my father,
because I see you smiling.

And the universe rejoices.
Therefore, there is no creature
that will lack your life.
For you are the lord
of the citizens in every place.

Your providence protects.
I call you ‘father’, ‘aeon of the aeons’,
‘great divine spirit’.
And by a spirit he gives
rain upon everyone.

What do you say to me,
my father, Hermes?”

“Concerning these things,
I do not say anything, my son.
For it is right before God
that we keep silent
about what is hidden.”

“Trismegistus,
let not my soul be deprived of the great divine vision.

For everything is possible for you
as master of the universe.”

“Return to praising, my son,
and sing while you are silent.
Ask what you want in silence.”

What he had finished praising, he shouted,
“Father Trismegistus!
What shall I say?
We have received this light.
And I myself see this same vision in you.
And I see the eighth, and the souls that are in it,
and the angels singing a hymn
to the ninth and its powers.
And I see him who has the power of them all,
creating those in the spirit.”


“It is advantageous from now on,
that we keep silence in a reverent posture.
Do not speak about the vision from now on.
It is proper to sing a hymn to the father
until the day to quit (the) body.”

The Discourse on the Eighth and Ninth

Once, having been asked by the Pharisees when the kingdom of God would come, Jesus replied, “The kingdom of God does not come with your careful observation, nor will people say, ‘Here it is,’ or ‘There it is,’ because the kingdom of God is within you.”

–Luke 17:20-21

The tissues of the physical body are made up of cells; the tissue of the astral body is composed of lifetrons—intelligent units of light or be energy. When man is in a state of body attachment, characterized by tension or contraction of life energy into atomic components, the lifetrons of the astral body become compacted, circumscribed by identification with the physical form. By metaphysical relaxation, the lifetronic structure begins to expand—the grip of the flesh on one’s identity loosens. By deeper and deeper meditation, the energy frame of the astral self expands beyond the boundaries of the physical body. The lifetronic body, being of a sphere of existence unconfounded by the delusional stricture of the three-dimensional physical world, has Ac potential to become one with the Cosmic Energy pervading the whole universe. God as Holy Ghost, Holy Vibration, is the Light of Cosmic Energy; man, made in the image of God, is composed of that We are that Light compacted; and we are that Light of our Universal Self.

As a first step toward entering the kingdom of God, the devotee should sit still in the correct meditation posture, with erect spine, and tense and relax the body—for by relaxation the consciousness is re­leased from the muscles. The yogi begins with proper deep breathing, inhaling and tensing the whole body, exhaling and relaxing, several times. With each exhalation all muscular tension and motion should be cast away, until a state of bodily stillness is attained. Then, by con­centration techniques, restless motion is removed from the mind. In perfect stillness of body and mind, the yogi enjoys the ineffable peace of the presence of the soul. In the body, life is templed; in the mind, light is templed; in the soul, peace is templed. The deeper one goes into the soul the more that peace is felt; that is superconsciousness. When by deeper meditation the devotee expands that awareness of peace and feels his consciousness spreading with it over the universe, that all be­ings and all creation are swallowed up in that peace, then he is enter­ing into Cosmic Consciousness. He feels that peace everywhere—in the flowers, in every human being, in the atmosphere. He beholds the earth and all worlds floating like bubbles in that ocean of peace.

The inner peace first experienced by the devotee in meditation is his own soul; the vaster peace he feels by going deeper is God. The devotee who experiences unity with everything has established God in the temple of his infinite inner perception.

In the temple of silence, in the temple of peace,

I will meet Thee, I will touch Thee, I will love Thee,

And coax Thee to my altar of peace.

In the temple of samadhi, in the temple of bliss,

I will meet Thee, I will touch Thee, I will love Thee,

And coax Thee to my altar of bliss

Paramahansa Yogananda

