“I know I am deathless. No doubt I have died myself ten thousand times before. I laugh at what you call dissolution, and I know the amplitude of time.” —Walt Whitman

“Learn thou! the Life is, spreading life through all; It cannot anywhere, by any means, Be anywise diminished, stayed, or changed. But for these fleeting frames which it informs with spirit deathless, endless, infinite, They perish. Let them perish, Prince! and fight! He who shall say, “Lo! I have slain a man!” He who shall think, “Lo! I am slain!” Those both know naught! Life cannot slay. Life is not slain!” —Krishna – Bhagavad Gita

for me the answer lies in the tree of life

As has been topuched upon by Isabella and myself, in a different group one can relate the tetragrammaton
in several ways upon the tree of life. For example some like the middle pillar:

Yod Kether 1   spiral(mobile)/ pluto
Heh Yesod  9  moon
Vau Tifferet 6 sun
Heh Malkuth 10 Earth

another example is the one used by the Sangreal solidality which places the 4 primary arch angels at:

Hod air 8 Mercury Rapahel Yod
Tifferet fire Sun Michael Vau
Yesod water Moon Gabriel Heh
Netzach earth Venus Uriel Heh

This is a powerful combination as it forms a lightning flash pattern, this of course differs fromt he standard crowley/golden dawn attribution…
A third way would be to relate the tetragrammaton to the small face and the large face or the supernal triangle and the other 7

kether chockmah binah: yod heh vau

chesed geburah tifferet hod netzach yesod and malkuth Heh

This is of course very Gnostic, and where as many simply place Christ at Tifferet, christ can be seen to be the lower Heh
This of course ties in with Gnosticism that claims Christ and Sophia are twin beings, one half of each other…or the Shekinah for those not clear on Sophia…

How does this relate to death?
At Chesed and geburah we have the abyss, the place of Daath (Gnosis)
Here we have the great bridge…. the Sangreal Solidality place the tarot card Judgement between Chesed and Geburah, this can be seen as akin to the egytian weighing of the soul.
It is here in Daath and the abyss where we choose…we choose life or death, darkness or light.
Note the 7 stages “below” us to reach this point… VITRIOL
Visitae Interiora Terrae Rectificando Invenies Occultum Lapidem… visit the interior of the earth(self) through purification you will find the hidden stone(your self/christ)
This of course relates to the 8 fold noble path and the false 7 heavens of the archons (Gnosticism)

So it is here where we cross over, we sink and drown in the ocean that is Binah or we swim.

So what happens at death? we come back in order to swim in Binah, until our time is up..then we must choose life or death…life is to swim in binah death is to drown and be “recycled”
we find our VITRIOL or we do not…..
“Souls are poured from one into another of different kinds of bodies of the world.”

“The counterfeit of the spirit is stationed without the soul, watching over it and dogging it, and the rulers bind it to the soul with their seal and with their bonds, and force it to commit mischiefs unremittingly, that it may be their slave forever, and be under their subjection forever in the transmigration into bodies: And they seal this counterfeit to the soul, so that it may be in every kind of sin and all the desires of the world. It is because of this that I have brought the mysteries into the world, which break all the bonds of the counterfeit of the spirit, which make the soul free and ransom it from the hands of its parents, the rulers, and transform it into pure light, to bring it into the kingdom of the True Father, the first everlasting mystery.”  Pistis Sophia