The purpose of a fishtrap is to catch fish, and when the fish are caught, the trap is forgotten.
The purpose of a rabbit snare is to catch rabbits. When the rabbits are caught, the snare is forgotten.
The purpose of words is to convey ideas. When the ideas are grasped, the words are forgotten.
Where can I find a man who has forgotten words? He is the one I would like to talk to.

 

 

–Chuang Tsu

 

 

If I can open a new corner in a man’s own heart to him I have not lived in vain. Life itself is the thing, not joy or pain or happiness or unhappiness. To hate is as good as to love – an enemy may be as good as a friend. Live for yourself – live your life. Then you are most truly the friend of man. – I am different every day – and when I am eighty, I shall still be experimenting and changing. Work that I have done no longer concerns me – it is past. I have too much on hand in life itself.

 

–Kahlil Gibran

 

