“True solitude is found in humility, which is infinitely rich. False
solitude is the refuge of pride, and it is infinitely poor.”

–Thomas Merton

 

In Beginning was Mind;

 

And Mind was with GOD.

 

So Mind was God.
This was in Beginning with GOD.

 

All kept coming into existence through it;
And apart from it came into existence not a single [thing].

What has come into existence in it was Life;
And LIFE was the Light of the [true] Men.

.

And the Light shineth in the Darkness;
And the Darkness did not emprison it.

 

It was the True Light,
Which enlighteneth every Man
Who cometh into the world.

 

It was in the world;
And the world kept coming into existence through it
And the world did not know it.

It came unto its own;
And its own did not receive it.

But as many as received it,
To them it gave power
To become Children of God,

.

To those who have faith in his name,

 

Who were brought to birth,
Not out of [the blending of] bloods,

 

Nor of urge of flesh,
Nor of urge of a male,
But out of God.

So Mind became flesh
And tabernacled in us,

.

And we beheld its glory,
Glory as of [? an] only-begotten from Father,
Full of Delight and Truth.

 

For of its Fulness we all received,
And Delight over against Delight

–Gnostic John the Baptizer

                 

PRE-EXISTENCE OF YOHANNA

An example of Yeshu (Jesus) teaching reincarnation can be found in the seventh book of the Pistis Sophia (an ancient Manichaean text dated to the 3rd century or earlier). In it we read of the reincarntion of Elijah, or Elias, as Yohanna d Masbuta (John the Baptist):

“Now it happened that when I came into the midst of the archons of the aeons, I looked down at the world of mankind, at the command of the First Mystery.

I found Elisabeth, the mother of John the Baptist , before she had conceived him and I cast into her a power which I had received from the Little Jao , the Good, who is in the Midst, so that he should be able to preach before me, and prepare my way and baptise with water of forgiveness .

Now that power was in the body of John. And again, in place of the soul of the archons which he was due to receive, I found the soul of the prophet Elias in the aeons of the sphere; and I took it in and I took his soul again; I brought it to the Virgin of the Light, and she gave it to her paralemptors. They brought it to the sphere of the archons, and they cast it into the womb of Elisabeth. But the power of the Little Jao, he of the Midst, and the soul of the prophet Elias were bound in the body of John the Baptist.

You doubted now at the time when I spoke to you because John said : ‘I am not the Christ’ and you said to me : ‘lt is written in the scripture : when the Christ shall come, there will come Elias before him and he will prepare his way’. But when you said this to me, I said to you : ‘Elias has indeed come and he has prepared all things, as it is written : And they did to him as they pleased. And when I knew that you did not understand what I said to you concerning the soul of Elias, which was bound in John the Baptist, I answered you openly in speech, face to face, saying : ‘If it pleases you to accept John the Baptist, he is Elias of whom I have said that he will come'”. – Pistis Sophia, ch 7


