But if you do not find an intelligent companion, a wise and
well-behaved person going the same way as yourself, then go on your way
alone, like a king abandoning a conquered kingdom, or like a great elephant in
the deep forest.

 

–Buddha

 

To us, beings of time, subject to nature, born for and dedicated to death, is promised eternity in the fatherland of the very ancient ones if we dedicate ourselves to the task for which we were created. Totally absorbed in our companion, being one with him, we shall leave the spaces of time and enter the spaces of eternal life. When we, as true servants, are willing to fulfil our tasks in the microcosmic house of service, then the great miracle will occur, the temporary will be swallowed up by the eternal. By non-being according to nature, by non-action according to the I of nature, we are all elected, through the rose-gate, to be the children of God. In order to be able to go this highly joyful way we only have to break through all the delusions inherent in time and space. At the point of separation, at the borders of time, we have to take leave of the forces of time and space. These forces, driven by their nature, try to maintain us in the nature of their earth.

 

Jan van Rijckenborgh

 

Love came and spread like blood in my veins and the skin of me,
It filled me with the Friend and completely emptied me.
The Friend has taken over all parts of my existence,
Only my name remains, as all is He.

–Amir Khusrau

 

PONDER on God’s mercies,
But not on His essence.
For His works come forth from His essence,
Not His essence from His works.
His light shines on the whole universe,
Yet He Himself is hidden from the universe.

–the secret rose garden

 

O HOW may I ever express that secret word?
O how can I say He is not like this, and He is like that?
If I say that He is within me, the universe is ashamed:
If I say that He is without me, it is falsehood.
He makes the inner and the outer worlds to be indivisibly one;
The conscious and the unconscious, both are His footstools.
He is neither manifest nor hidden, He is neither revealed nor unrevealed:
There are no words to tell that which He is.

–Kabir

 

