Buddhists that whatever we do in this life will plant karmic seeds that will result in our next birth and its conditions. Consequently we should be careful of our actions of body, speech and mind. If we know that at each moment we are creating something for the future, we should be happy. We have the opportunity to make our actions good so that the consequences will be good for us and for others. If we strive at every moment to work selflessly for the good of all beings, then we can truly speak of a new life at every moment.

 

–Master Sheng-Yen

 

 

 

 

Below is a list of ten virtues found in the Pistis Sophia codex and combined with the ten precepts of Mahayana Buddhism (an extract from the quote of Yeshu is shown in red for reference):

 

Ten Gnostic Precepts
(Gnostic Arrangement)

1: I will be mentally focused and calm; (Be calm)
I will not give way to distraction and anger.

2: I will be loving to others and respect the property; (be loving unto others)
I will not hoard or steal.

3: I will be gentle and reverent toward all life; (be gentle)
I will not kill or benefit from killing.

4: I will be forthright, peaceful and honest; (be peaceful)
I will not deceive.

5: I will have compassionate and wise relationships; (be merciful)
I will not abuse or use others in lust.

6: I will give alms and cultivate gratitude; (give tithes)
I will not grumble or give in to envy.

7: I will be humble and helpful to those in need; (help the poor and sick and distressed)
I will not belittle or live off others.

8: I will devote myself to the Fourfold God;  (be devoted to Deity)
I will not dishonor Their Life, Light, Power or Wisdom.

9: I will keep the temple of my body and mind righteous and pure; (be righteous)
I will not overindulge its desires or endanger its health.

10: I will cultivate serenity and goodness; (be good)
I will not gossip or engage in idle chit chat.


 

“Mary, Mary – know me but do not touch me. Stop the tears from flowing and know that I am your master. Only do not touch me, for I haven’t seen my Father’s face yet. Your God wasn’t stolen from you, as your small thoughts lead you to believe. Your God did not die, but mastered death! I am not the gardener! I have given life and received life eternal. But I now appear to you because I have seen the tears in your eyes. Throw your sadness away from me to wandering orphans. Start rejoicing now and tell the eleven. You will find them gathered on Jordan’s bank. The traitor persuaded them to once again become fishermen as once they were and to lay down their nets that caught people to life!

–Manichaean fragment

 

“‘What is mine is yours and what is yours is mine’ and ‘What is mine is mine and what is yours is mine too’ are clearly the behavior of the foolish and the wicked. The first is similar to the proposition whereby ‘it is better to do nothing than to transform something into nothing,’ and the second is a typical case of unmitigated greed…..

 

        The stance that would seem neutral (‘What is mine is mine and what is yours is yours’) is said to be similar to the behavior of the corrupt communities of Sodom and Gomorrah. This idea derives from the rabbinical premise that we cannot detach ourselves from our community, for life happens within relationships and among people or, as we’ve nowadays come to believe, within our interactions with all living things, including plants and animals. Isolation is an illusion that is responsible for much individual and collective instability. The pragmatism of ‘What is mine is mine and what is yours is yours’ is a great ecological threat, because it tends to create societies or life networks that are cancerous and self-destructive. For the rabbis, the ‘Sodom and Gomorrah’ philosophy is symbolic of something that drifts ever so imperceptibly from its path and eventually brings about its own extinction. Thus God programs His creation, leaving in it the self-destructive software necessary to stop it from going against its basic commands. The interdependence of livelihood and survival is a lot broader than simply, ‘What is mine is mine and what is yours is yours.’ It’s an ecological network that encompasses orbits of return of various different magnitudes.”

 

– N. Bonder (The Kabbalah of Money)

 


