(38) Jesus said,

“Many times have you desired to hear

these words which I am saying to you,

and you have no one else to hear them from.

There will be days when you will look for me

and will not find me.”

 

(92) Jesus said,

“Seek and you will find.

Yet, what you asked me about in former times

and which I did not tell you then,

now I do desire to tell,

but you do not inquire after it.”

 

Wisdom of Solomon 6:11

“be eager to hear me;

long for my teaching,

and you will learn.”

 

Isaiah 55:6

“Seek the Lord while he is present,

call to him while he is close at hand.”

 

John 7:33,34

“For a little longer I shall be with you; then I am going away to him who sent me. You will look for me, but you will not find me; and where I am, you cannot come.”

 

Proverbs 1:20,21,24,28

“Wisdom cries aloud in the open air,

and raises her voice in public places.

She calls at the top of the bustling streets …”

“But because you refused to listen to my call …”

“ When (you) call to me, I shall not answer;

when (you) seek, (you) will not find me.

 

In saying (38),

Jesus speaks as if he is the voice of Wisdom.

The keys that are to be obtained

are again found by hearing Jesus’ words.

The idea that you might miss your opportunity

and seek and yet not find or as in Saying (92),

not ask at the appropriate time, reminds me of the parable of “The Banquet”, Saying (64), where the invitation arrives at a most inopportune moment.

I see this as advice to jump through the transitory “windows of opportunity” as they present themselves on your journey to find Wisdom. “Reap the grain when it’s ripe” as it says in Saying (21).

 

 

