To understand others is to be knowledgeable; To understand yourself is to be wise.

To conquer others is to have strength;

To conquer yourself is to be strong.

To know when you have enough is to be rich. To go forward with strength is to have ambition. To not lose your place is to last long.

To die but not be forgotten-that’s true long life.

–Tao Te Ching (chap 33)

………………………………………

Great feuds are not the product of mere greed or of sim­ple disputes over acquisitions. They involve, as we have seen, the symbolic plane of envy. Here we see that the enemy or the source of disagreement, exists not in the real world, but in that of interaction. In all hatred, a personal component distorts our perceptions, intensify­ing the weaknesses of the other, even when these are real. Another observer may perceive those very weak­nesses as a cause for admiration, not rejection. A re­pressed person seeking to change himself may admire the sensual behavior of another individual, while this same characteristic brings hatred from a third individual who is at that same moment looking to repress his behavior.

Thus we may deeply hate something in others that we do not like in ourselves, or something in others that reminds us of our frustrations, and so forth. In the im­mediate interests of thinking about quarreling, we want to identify this element residing in those who hate, sig­naling a strong link with the object of that emotion. No one takes his hatred as far as a feud unless he is strongly linked to the person he hates. Understanding this is fundamental to the analysis of a disagreement. The Maggid of Mezeritz said:

Do not be discouraged by strong opposition. Rob­bers attack those who carry jewels, not carts car­rying fertilizer. We must think of ourselves as carriers of jewels, in order to repel robbers.

People whom we hate carry jewels in the sense of something that interests us, something important to us. These jewels can be good or evil, but to the robber they symbolize an object of. great desire. Both the rob­ber and the victim must be aware of this. The Maggid of Mezeritz even risks the suggestion that, in reacting to violence, the individual under attack should not forget to think of himself as a carrier of jewels. When we are not aware of this, we may erroneously take personally much of what is sent in our direction. We are merely carriers of jewels, in the eyes of the other jewels we may not even perceive.

–The Kabbalah of Envy (Rabbi Nilton Bonder)

……………………………………

 

………………

I have lived
dear G-d
in a world gone mad
and I have seen
evil
unleashed beyond reason or
understanding.

I was with them.
We drank from the same
bitter cup.

I hid with them
Feared with them,
Struggled with them
And when the killing was finally done
I had survived
while millions had died.
I do not know why

I have asked many questions
for which there are no answers
And I have even cursed
my life
thinking I could not
endure the pain.

But a flame
inside
refused to die.
I could not throw away
What had been ripped away
from so many.

In the end
I had to choose life.
I had to struggle to cross
the bridge between
the dead and the living.
I had to rebuild
what had been destroyed.
I had to deny death
Another victory.

A Survivor’s Prayer By: MalkaB

 

………………

I tell you how I feel, but you dont care.
I say tell me the truth, but you dont dare.
You say love is a hell you cannot bare.
And I say gimme mine back and then go there – for all I care.

I got my feet on the ground and I dont go to sleep to dream.
You got your head in the clouds and youre not at all what you seem.
This mind, this body, and this voice cannot be stifled by your deviant ways.
So dont forget what I told you, dont come around, I got my own hell to raise.

I have never been insulted in all my life.
I could swallow the seas to wash down all this pride.
First you run like a fool just to be at my side.
And now you run like a fool, but you just run to hide, and I cant abide.

I got my feet on the ground and I dont go to sleep to dream.
You got this head in the clouds and youre not at all what you seem.
This mind, this body, and this voice cannot be stifled by your deviant ways.
So dont forget what I told you, dont come around, I got my own hell to raise.

Dont make it a big deal, dont be so sensitive.
Were not playing a game anymore, you dont have to be so defensive.
Dont you plead me your case, dont bother to explain.
Dont even show me your face, cuz its a crying shame.
Just go back to the rock from under which you came.
Take the sorrow you gave and all the stakes you claim –
And dont forget the blame.
I got my feet on the ground and I dont go to sleep to dream.
You got this head in the clouds and youre not at all what you seem.
This mind, this body, and this voice cannot be stifled by your deviant ways.
So dont forget what I told you, dont come around, I got my own hell to raise.

–Sleep to Dream (Fiona Apple)

 

image1.png

 

