The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.

He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,

he restores my soul.
He guides me in paths of righteousness
for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk
through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.

Surely goodness and love will follow me
all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the LORD
forever.

–Psalm 23

…………………

My parents kept me from children who were rough And who threw words like stones and who wore torn clothes..

Their thighs showed through rags. They ran in the street

And climbed cliffs and stripped by the country streams.

I feared more than tigers their muscles like iron

And their jerking hands and their knees tight on my arms.

I feared the salt coarse pointing of those boys

Who copied my lisp behind me on the road.

They were lithe, they sprang out behind hedges

Like dogs to bark at our world. They threw mud

And I looked another way, pretending to smile.

I longed to forgive them, yet they never smiled.

 

–Stephen Spender (My Parents Kept me from Children who were Rough)

……………………………

When faced with other people it is often we find people with agendas. We find the ego. It is all too easy to become angry. When faced with people who feel the need to hurt others it is too easy to give in to the ego, the self and become angry. Liars have their own reasons, their own agenda, their need to cast dispersions. We must overcome this; overcome the need to be right; overcome the need to silence those that offend you. Beat your attacker not with a fist, but with love.

Anger leads to anger

Hate leads to hate

Lies lead to lies

But

Love leads to love.

–Br. Benjamin Assisi 12/5/07

………………………….

I now repent whatever were the deeds of my body, speech, and mind; my greedy, indignant, and foolish behavior; and had I encouraged the “robbers ” to poison my heart, or not restrained my roots; or had I doubted the Eternal-Living Three Treasures and the Two Great Lights; or had I injured the body of the Glorious Column, as well as the Five Lights; had I begot a feeling of slight and neglect against the Priestess-teachers, our fathers and mothers, and against the wise intimates, and had I accused and blamed them; or had I imperfectly observed the seven alms-givings, the ten Commandments, and the three Seals, Gates of Law, I now pray my sins may disappear!

Behold, I call to witness the heaven and the water, and the holy spirits, and the angels of prayer, and the oil, and the salt, and the earth. I testify by these seven witnesses that no more shall I sin, nor commit adultery, nor steal, nor be guilty of injustice, nor be covetous, nor be motivated by hatred, nor be scornful, nor shall I take pleasure in any wicked deeds.

Good is the Good to the good, and They set their nature upon those who love their name.

We will seek and find, and will pray and be heard.

We have sought and found, we prayed and were heard in thy presence, my Lord Yeshu and Maryam d-Hiya, Lords of healings.

Amen.

–“The Gnostic Prayer book” ( a mix of Qualasta, the Mandaean prayer book and the Manichaean Hymn Scroll)

