“The value of our activity depends almost entirely on the humility to
accept ourselves as we are.  The reason why we do things so badly is
that we are not content to do what we can.”

–Thomas Merton

The thing is

to love life

to love it even when you have no

stomach for it, when everything you’ve held

dear crumbles like burnt paper in your hands

and your throat is filled with the silt of it.

When grief sits with you so heavily

it’s like heat, tropical, moist

thickening the air so it’s heavy like water

more fit for gills than lungs.

When grief weights you like your own flesh

only more of it, an obesity of grief.

How long can a body withstand this? you think;

and yet you hold life like a face between your palms,

a plain face, with no charming smile

or twinkle in her eye,

and you say, yes, I will take you I will love you, again.

Ellen Bass Author, California

 

I rested on the Spirit of the Lord, and She lifted me up to heaven;

And caused me to stand on my feet in the Lord’s high place, before His perfection and His glory, where I continued glorifying Him by the composition of His Odes.

The Spirit brought me forth before the Lord’s face, and because I was the Son of Man, I was named the Light, the Son of God;

Because I was the most glorified among the glorious ones, and the greatest among the great ones.

For according to the greatness of the Most High, so She made me; and according to His newness He renewed me.

And He anointed me with His perfection; and I became one of those who are near Him.

And my mouth was opened like a cloud of dew, and my heart gushed forth like a gusher of righteousness.

And my approach was in peace, and I was established in the Spirit of Providence.
Hallelujah.

             –Odes of Solomon (36)

