read it all

 

(13)

Jesus said to his disciples,
“Compare me to someone and tell me whom I am like.”
Simon Peter said to him,

“You are like a righteous angel.”
Matthew said to him,

“You are like a wise philosopher.”
Thomas said to him, “Master, my mouth is

wholly incapable of saying whom you are like.”
Jesus said, “I am not your master.
Because you have drunk, you have become intoxicated
from the bubbling spring which I have measured out.”
And he took him and withdrew and told him three things. When Thomas returned to his companions, they asked him, “What did Jesus say to you?”
Thomas said to them,
“If I tell you one of the things which he told me,
you will pick up stones and throw them at me;
a fire will come out of the stones and burn you up.”

I believe Jesus is quoting Isaiah

when he asks the disciples to:

“Compare me to someone and tell me whom I am like.”

Isaiah 46:5

“To whom will you liken me?
Who is my equal?
With whom can you compare me?

Where is my like?”

(13) cont.

Simon Peter said to him, “You are like a righteous angel.”
Matthew said to him, “You are like a wise philosopher.”
Thomas said to him,
“Master, my mouth is wholly incapable of saying whom you are like.”

Matthew 16:13-19

Jesus asked his disciples,

“Who do people say that the Son of Man is?”
They answered,

“Some say John the Baptist,

others Jeremiah, or one of the prophets.”
And you,” he asked, “who do you say I am?“
Simon Peter answered: “You are the Messiah,

the Son of the living God.”

Then Jesus said:

“Simon son of Jonah, you are favoured indeed!
You did not learn that from any human being;

it was revealed to you by my heavenly Father.

And I say to you; you are Peter, the Rock;

and on this rock I will build my church,

and the powers of death shall never conquer it.

I will give you the keys of

the kingdom of Heaven”

Luke 9:18-20
One day, when he had been praying by himself

in the company of his disciples, he asked them,

“Who do the people say I am?”

They answered, “Some say John the Baptist,

others Elijah, others that one of the prophets

of old has come back to life.”
And you,” he said, “who do you say I am?’
Peter answered, “God’s Messiah.”

Thomas has a profoundly different set of responses than those found in Matthew and Luke, where Peter is promoted as having the correct answer, which is that Jesus is “the Messiah”.

I prefer Thomas’s answer because he basically says, “there is no answer to that question”!

Matthew’s version promotes Peter as the leader

of the “church”. This is again quite different than Thomas’ Saying (12), where those disciples worried about who will be their leader, are told (sarcastically?) to go to James, “the Righteous”.

(13) cont.

Jesus said, “I am not your master.
Because you have drunk, you have become intoxicated
from the bubbling spring which I have measured out.”

(108)
“Jesus said, ‘He who will drink from my mouth will become like me. I myself shall become he, and the things that are hidden will be revealed to him.'”

Odes of Solomon

Ode 30:1,2,5,7
“Fill ye waters for yourselves from the living fountain

of the Lord, for it is opened to you.
And come all ye thirsty, and take the draught;

and rest by the fountain of the Lord.
For it flows forth from the lips of the Lord
Blessed are they who have drunk therefrom and

have found rest thereby.

Hallelujah”

This portion of Saying (13) is related to Saying (108)
and
is also related to the “Living Water” sayings of John and Jeremiah.

John 7:37-38

“If anyone is thirsty, let him come to me and drink.
Whoever believes in me, as scripture says

“Streams of living water shall flow from within him.”

John 4:14

“Whoever drinks the water I shall give will

never again be thirsty. The water that I shall give

will be a spring of water within him, welling up and bringing eternal life.”

Jeremiah 17:13

“Lord…all…who forsake you will be inscribed in the dust, for they have rejected the source of living water”

Jeremiah 2:13

“My people have committed two sins:

they have rejected me, a source of living water,

and they have hewn out for themselves cisterns,

cracked cisterns which hold no water.”

(13) cont.

And he took him and withdrew and told him three things. When Thomas returned to his companions, they asked him, “What did Jesus say to you?”
Thomas said to them,
“If I tell you one of the things which he told me,
you will pick up stones and throw them at me;
a fire will come out of the stones and burn you up.”

Ecclesiasticus 27:25,27

“Throw a stone in the air and

you throw it on your own head …

The wrong anyone does recoils on him,

and he has no idea where it comes from.”

John 8:7

“Let whichever of you is free from sin

throw the first stone …”

Although Jesus’ exact message must remain

a mystery, I believe the key to understanding

this portion of (13) involves a play-on-words

involving “stone” as a representation of the

Law of Moses, handed down in the stone tablets

of the 10 Commandments, and “stoning” as a

punishment for blasphemy, speaking against the

“God” of Moses and thus breaking one of these

same 10 Commandments.

Attempting to hurl “Commandments” at others

will cause the “Law”

you attempt to impose upon others

to consume you.

The secret blasphemous messages might be:


God is within you,

God is within me,

YHWH (the angry god of the sky) is not the true God,

and/or

You no longer need to keep the “Law”.

 

