“…God, if you talk about him without true virtue, is only a name.” –
—Plotinus (tr. A.H. Armstrong)

Names given to the worldly are very deceptive, for they divert our thoughts from what is correct to what is incorrect. Thus one who hears the word “God” does not perceive what is correct, but perceives what is incorrect. So also with “the Father” and “the Son” and “the Holy Spirit” and “life” and “light” and “resurrection” and “the Church (Ekklesia)” and all the rest – people do not perceive what is correct but they perceive what is incorrect, unless they have come to know what is correct. The names which are heard are in the world […] deceive. If they were in the Aeon (eternal realm), they would at no time be used as names in the world. Nor were they set among worldly things. They have an end in the Aeon.

One single name is not uttered in the world, the name which the Father gave to the Son; it is the name above all things: the name of the Father. For the Son would not become Father unless he wore the name of the Father. Those who have this name know it, but they do not speak it. But those who do not have it do not know it.

But truth brought names into existence in the world for our sakes, because it is not possible to learn it (truth) without these names. Truth is one single thing; it is many things and for our sakes to teach about this one thing in love through many things. The rulers (archons) wanted to deceive man, since they saw that he had a kinship with those that are truly good. They took the name of those that are good and gave it to those that are not good, so that through the names they might deceive him and bind them to those that are not good. And afterward, what a favor they do for them! They make them be removed from those that are not good and place them among those that are good. These things they knew, for they wanted to take the free man and make him a slave to them forever.

—Gospel of Philip
I spent long days and nights in the studio, seeking that dance which might be
the divine expression of the human spirit through the medium of the body’s
movement.
I would stand quite still for hours, my two hands folded between my breasts,
covering my solar plexus.
I was seeking and finally discovered, the central spring of all movement, the
unity from which all divisions of movement are born, the mirror of vision for
the creation of dance.

—Isadora Duncan

Sky nor earth nor metals am I.

I am That, I am That, Blessed Spirit, I am That!

No birth, no death, no caste have I;

Father, mother have I none.

I am That, I am That, Blessed Spirit, I am That!

Beyond the flights of fancy , formless am I.

Permeating the limbs of all life;

Bondage I do not fear; I am free, I am free.

I am That, I am That, Blessed Spirit, I am That!

—Shankara

This great name of yours is upon me, O self-begotten Perfect one, who is not outside me. I see you, O you who are visible to everyone. For who will be able to comprehend you in another tongue? Now that I have known you, I have mixed myself with the immutable. I have armed myself with an armor of light; I have become light! For the Mother was at that place because of the splendid beauty of grace. Therefore, I have stretched out my hands while they were folded. I was shaped in the circle of the riches of the light which is in my bosom, which gives shape to the many begotten ones in the light into which no complaint reaches. I shall declare your glory truly, for I have comprehended you, sou iEs ide aeiO aeie ois, O aeon, aeon, O God of silence! I honor you completely. You are my place of rest, O Son Es Es o e, the formless one who exists in the formless ones, who exists raising up the man in whom you will purify me into your life, according to your imperishable name. Therefore, the incense of life is in me. I mixed it with water after the model of all archons, in order that I may live with you in the peace of the saints, you who exist really truly forever.

–Gospel of the egyptians

“Thou must love God as not-God, not-Spirit, not-person, not-image,
but as He is, a sheer, pure, absolute One, sundered from all two-ness,

and in whom we must eternally sink from nothingness to nothingness.”

– Meister Eckhart

