Today, now, this moment,

I promise myself to reach out and touch the earth.

I will dig my fingers into the soil and remember what it is that sustains
me.

It is not wealth.

It is not possessions.

It is not achievements.

It is not the praise of men.

It is this that I touch, the sacred soil, the fertile field, the living
land, the holy.

Today, now, this moment,

I promise myself to reach out and touch a fellow creature.

I will run my hand along fur, feathers, shell, or scales and remember what
sustains him.

It is not wealth.

It is not possessions.

It is not achievements.

It is not the praise of men.

It is the ocean eternal, the infinite sky, the sun, the rain, the holy
earth.

Today, now, this moment.

I promise myself to reach out and embrace understanding. I will hold to my
breast the reality that my fellow creatures and I are equals in the Mother’s
love.

It is not wealth.

It is not possessions.

It is not achievements.

It is not the praise of men.

It is food and breath, life and death, the stars above us and the holy
earth.

Laurel Olson Community Minister, Fellowship of the Spiral Path,
California

In the same way, any of you who does not give up everything he has cannot be
my disciple.

–Luke 14:33

“When humility delivers a man from attachment to his own works and his
own reputation, he discovers that perfect joy is possible only when we
pay no more attention to our own deeds and our own reputation and our
own excellence that we are at last completely free to serve God in
perfection for His own sake alone.”

–Thomas Merton

“It is not death, it is not life I cherish.
I bide my time, as a servant waiting for his wage.
It is not death, it is not life I cherish.
I bide my time, in mindfulness and wisdom steeped.”

–The Questions of King Milinda

I do not undervalue for a moment our material prosperity . . .

but we must keep steadily in mind that no people were ever benefited by
riches if their prosperity corrupted their virtue. (Theodore Roosevelt)

